S1E1- Stages of Grief

Author Posted On 24 July 2023

Podcast Transcript


Hey everyone! Welcome to "Grief Untangled: Untangling the Threads of Grief, Healing, and Hope." This is Coach DD, and today, we're going to delve into the different stages of grief. So let's get started.


Before we explore the stages of grief, it's crucial to understand that grief is a highly individualized and unique experience. Each person grieves in their own way, and there's no right or wrong way to grieve. Now, there are several models of grief that have gained popularity over time. Let's take a look at a few of them.

Model 1: John BOWLBY's Four Stages of Grief

John BOWLBY's model focuses on grief triggered by the loss of attachment figures. The four stages are:

  1. Shock and numbness
  2. Yearning and searching
  3. Disorganization and despair
  4. Reorganization

Model 2: William WARDEN's Four Tasks of Grief

William WARDEN's model involves four tasks that individuals go through during grief:

  1. Accepting the reality of the loss
  2. Working through the pain of grief
  3. Adjusting to an environment without the deceased
  4. Emotionally relocating the deceased and moving forward in life

Model 3: Elizabeth KUBLER ROSS's Five Stages of Grief

Elizabeth KUBLER ROSS introduced five stages of grief in her work, and they are:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Let's Explore Each Stage:

  1. Denial: Often, after a loss, we experience disbelief or numbness. Sometimes, the tragedy is so sudden and traumatic that it becomes challenging to accept the reality of the loss, leading to shock or denial.
  2. Anger: As the reality sinks in, we may feel anger and frustration. This anger can be directed towards ourselves, others, or even the deceased. It's a natural part of processing grief.
  3. Bargaining: In this stage, we try to negotiate with a higher power or the universe to undo the loss. We may find ourselves pondering "what-ifs" and experiencing regrets.
  4. Depression: This stage brings deep sadness, emptiness, and hopelessness. It may feel like being stuck in a bottomless pit with no way out.
  5. Acceptance: Acceptance does not mean moving on but rather coming to terms with the reality of the loss. It's about learning how to live with grief and finding ways to move forward while honoring the memory of the deceased.

David KESSLER's 6th Stage - Meaning

Building upon Elizabeth KUBLER ROSS's work, David KESSLER introduced a 6th stage: meaning. Meaning comes from finding a way to sustain love for the person who has passed while moving forward in life. It's about finding a purpose beyond the loss.


Grief is a complex emotional journey, and it's normal to move back and forth between these stages. Some days, you might experience denial, while on others, you may feel anger or depression. Remember, seeking support from friends, family, or a grief counselor is essential during this challenging time. Don't hesitate to reach out for help.

Thank you for joining me in this episode of "Grief Untangled." Stay tuned for more insightful topics in our upcoming episodes as we continue to untangle the journey of grief together.

Remember, healing and hope are within reach. Take care, and until next time!

More Episodes
Contact us

Amarante CHS,
Next to DMart, Kalamboli,
Navi Mumbai - 410218
Maharashtra, India

Social connections

Mob : +91 77386 07767

Email: connect@healtogethercircle.com

HTC community and coaching conversations involve discussing the loss of a loved one, but it is not a substitute for therapy or group therapy. It is important to seek professional help if necessary and we encourage that when we find the need.

For HTC a member is free to cancel their subscription before renewal, and the moderator may also ask someone to leave if needed.

@ 2023 Deepak Deopure Coaching & Consulting | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions